February Newsletter (New)

Marina

Download the February Newsletter

No Uniform Day

The Parent’s Association are holding a non-uniform day on Friday 14th February. The girls are encouraged to wear pink or red and to bring in €1 as this is a Parents Association fund raising activity.

School Uniform

Children must wear their school uniform to school every day. Tracksuits can only be worn on PE days unless notification is sent from the school. If children are cold, they have the option to wear trousers to school which was brought in by the Student Council two years ago.

Children not wearing the correct uniform to school are in breach of the Code of Conduct. This is regularly discussed with children at assembly.

Late arrivals

If a child arrives late for school, they must be signed in by an adult at the office. Children returning to school following an appointment must also be signed in.

Football Coaching

Aaron Gorman is currently providing football coaching for the girls in Junior and Senior Infants. He is starting up a lunch time league for 6th class students with the help of some TY students.

St. Brigid’s Day Prayer Service

Thank you to the fourth-class girls in Ms. Shine’s class who led us in a prayer service for St. Brigid on Friday 31st January. The girls acted out the story of St. Brigid and her cloak and sang songs. Well done girls.

Peace Proms

On Saturday 1st February the 5th class girls attended the Peace Proms in the RDS. It was a fantastic night. The children really enjoyed the experience and a memorable night was had by all. Thank you to Mrs. Ruth Johnson and Ms. Eimear Sheehan for all their work preparing the girls for the Peace Proms and to Ms. Joan Moore and Jackie who also accompanied the girls on Saturday.

First Penance

The Second class students will celebrate the Sacrament of First Penance at 7.30pm on Tuesday 11th February.

Mobile Phones

Garda David Prendergast, the Juvenile Liaison Office with Naas Garda Station is coming in on Tuesday 11th February (Safer Internet Day) to speak to the students in 4th, 5th and 6th class about Cyber Safety and being safe using their mobile phones.
Please check your child’s mobile phone regularly.

School Tours

Our school tours are all booked for the summer term.  The cost of the bus really adds to the price of the tour. Please let your daughter’s teacher know if she is unable to attend her tour as the numbers may affect the price of the bus i.e. if we need a coach and a minibus or just a coach.

An Aladdin notice will be sent for payments for tours.

Jnr Infants Lullymore Wednesday 27th May
Snr Infants Dublin Zoo Friday 29th May
1st Sealife Bray and Bray Bowl Thursday 4th June
2nd Tayto Park Thursday 11th June
3rd Clonard House Friday 12th June
4th Funtasia Thursday 28th May
5th Explorium Blackhall Stud Friday 5th June Thursday 25th June
6th Avon Rí SAP Tuesday 9th June 11th/ 12th June

Fitbits/ Apple watches

Children are not allowed wear watches to school that have apps on them. If your child has a Fitbit, please ensure it has no apps on it or that notifications to receive text messages is switched off.

Headlice

Please ensure that the girls always have their hair tied back as this helps prevent the spread of headlice.

Yoga

A new 6 week yoga term will begin on Wednesday 26th and Thursday 27th February at 8.00 – 8.45 am.

Please email treetopyogaireland@gmail.com to book a place or for further information.

Arts & Crafts Classes

After school art classes with Ms. Barrett will begin on Thursday 27th February for 6 weeks from 2.40 – 4.00 pm.

Please contact becreativeartclub@gmail.com to book a place or for further details.

Reminder re upcoming school closures:

Mid-term break:                                  Monday 17th – Friday 21st February.
(Reopening Monday 24th February)

St. Patricks Weekend:                        Monday 16th & Tuesday 17th March  

Easter Holidays:                                  Finishing at 12 noon on Friday 3rd April and reopening on Monday 20th April

May Bank Holiday:                            Monday 4th and Tuesday 5th May

June Bank Holiday:                            Monday 1st and Tuesday 2nd June

School closes on Tuesday 30th June at 12 noon.